Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

Left to Right: Maurice Pitesky, Igor Lacan, Janice Tsai, Amber Hartman, Amber Wright, Byron Kennedy, Katharine Moore, Ryan McCarthy, Jessica Westbrook and Daniel Ballon.

CCST congratulates the inaugural class of the S&T Policy Fellows!

Daniel R. Ballon
Office of Assembly Minority Leader/Republican Caucus

Daniel received his PhD in Molecular and Cell Biology from UC Berkeley, and BAs in Molecular Biology and Biochemistry and in Russian Language and Literature from Wesleyan University. Daniel now serves as a Principal Consultant for the California State Assembly Republican Caucus.

Amber Laura Hartman (Scholz)
Senate Environmental Quality Committee

Amber received her PhD in Biology from The Johns Hopkins University and a BS in Biology from Davidson College. Amber is currently at the Leibniz-Institut DSMZ-Deutsche Sammlung von Mikroorganismen und Zellkulturen GmbH, where she serves as Scientific Deputy to the Director.

Byron Kennedy
Office of Assemblymember Sandré Swanson

Byron received his MD and PhD in Chronic Disease Epidemiology, and a MPH in Chronic Disease Epidemiology from Yale University. He received a BS in Biological Sciences from Sacramento State, and he has an active medical license in both California and New York. Byron now serves as Director of Health for the City of New Haven, Connecticut.

Igor Lacan
Assembly Water, Parks, & Wildlife Committee

Igor received his PhD in Urban Ecology, a MS in Aquatic Ecology, and a BS in Ecology from UC Berkeley. Igor is currently an UC Cooperative Extension Advisor for the San Francisco Bay Area, specializing in urban forestry.

Ryan McCarthy
Office of Assemblymember Wilmer Amina Carter

Ryan received his PhD in Civil and Environmental Engineering from UC Davis. He received a MS in Civil and Environmental Engineering from UC Davis, and graduated cum laude with a BS in Structural Engineering from UC San Diego. Ryan was appointed by Governor Brown as Science and Technology Policy Advisor to the Office of the Chair of the California Air Resources Board.

Katharine Moore
Senate Natural Resources and Water Committee

Katharine received her PhD in Atmospheric Science from Colorado State University, a MS in Environmental Engineering from UC Berkeley, and a BS in Mechanical Engineering from MIT. Katharine now serves as Consultant for the California State Senate Natural Resources and Water Committee.

Maurice Pitesky
Senate Energy, Utilities & Communications Committee

Maurice received his Doctor of Veterinary Medicine degree and his Masters of Preventative Veterinary Medicine from UC Davis. He earned a MS in Agriculture from Cal Poly San Luis Obispo, and a BS in Biology from UCLA. Maurice is currently an Assistant Specialist for Poultry Health and Food Safety Epidemiology with UC Cooperative Extension and UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine.

Janice Tsai
Office of Senate Majority Leader Dean Florez

Janice received her PhD in Engineering and Public Policy from Carnegie Mellon University. She also earned a Master of Library and Information Science at Rutgers, and a BA in Mathematical Methods in the Social Sciences at Northwestern University. Janice is a currently a Senior Research Scientist at Mozilla.

Jessica Westbrook
Assembly Natural Resources Committee

A native of Livermore, California, Jessica received her PhD in Horticulture from Cornell University and a BS in Plant Biology from UC Davis. Jessica is currently a Principal Member of Technical Staff at Sandia National Laboratories-California.

Amber Wright
Senate Office of Research

Amber received her PhD in Population Biology from UC Davis. She received a MA in Conservation Biology from Columbia University and graduated cum laude with a BS in Biological Sciences from Cornell University. Amber is currently an Assistant Professor of Ecology at the Department of Biology, University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa.

Updated 3/2/18