Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

Left to Right: Michelle Leinfelder, Hillary Q. Thomas, Peter Cowan, Kenneth Spence, Anthony Marino, Michael Bedard-Hearn, Newsha Ajami, and Malaika Katrina Singleton

"It was refreshing to successfully apply my analytical, research, and communication skills in an entirely new setting. My criminal justice research made a difference and helped keep a state department accountable." - S&T Policy Fellow Malaika Singleton

Newsha Ajami
Senate Natural Resources & Water Committee

Newsha received a PhD in Civil and Environmental Engineering from UC Irvine, a MS in Hydrology and Water Resources from the University of Arizona, and a BS in Civil and Environmental Engineering from Amirkabir University of Technology (Tehran Polytechnic). She was was appointed by Governor Brown to the San Francisco Bay Regional Water Quality Control Board. Newsha is currently Director of Urban Water Policy for the Water in the West Program at Stanford University’s Woods Institute for the Environment.

Michael Bedard-Hearn
Office of Assemblymember Nancy Skinner

Michael received a PhD from UCLA in Physical Chemistry, specializing in energy transfer, and he received his BS in Chemistry from Santa Clara University. He also studied plastic-based solar cells as a postdoctoral researcher at the University of Texas. Michael now serves as Chief of Staff for the Office of California State Senator Bob Hertzberg.

Peter Cowan
Senate Environmental Quality Committee

Peter received a PhD in Integrative Biology at UC Berkeley. He received a MS in Biological Sciences from Stanford University and graduated magna cum laude with a BA in Biology from Kalamazoo College. Peter is currently a Conservation Analyst at the Save the Redwoods League.

Malaika Katrina Singleton
Senate Office of Research

Malaika received a PhD in Neuroscience from UC Davis and a BA in Biology and Psychology from the Rutger-Newark Colleges of Arts & Sciences and the New Jersey Institute of Technology. Malaika is currently the CEO of Singleton Investments and CEO of the Saint Nia Foundation.

Michelle Leinfelder-Miles
Senate Transportation & Housing Committee

A native of San Joaquin County, Michelle received a PhD and MS in Horticulture from Cornell University and a BS in Crop Science and Management from UC Davis. Michelle is currently a Delta Crops Resource Management Advisor with UC Cooperative Extension.

Tony Marino
Office of Assemblymember Jerry Hill

Tony received a PhD in Chemistry from the University of Chicago and a BA in English and Chemistry from Davidson College. Prior to his fellowship, Tony was a Mirzayan Science & Technology Policy Graduate Fellow in Washington DC with the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. Tony was appointed by Governor Brown as Executive Officer for the California Underground Facility Safe Excavation Board.

Kenneth Spence
Office of Assembly Member Nathan Fletcher

Ken received a PhD in Entomology from UC Davis and a dual BS in Biology and in Spanish Language from Morehouse College. Ken was appointed by Governor Brown as Director of Policy and Legislation at California Department of Pesticide Regulation.

Hillary Q. Thomas
Office of Assembly Member Fiona Ma

Hillary received a PhD and MS in Entomology from UC Davis, and a BS in Environmental Sciences from UC Berkeley. She also studied the management of emerging invasive pests in California agriculture as a postdoctoral researcher at UC Davis. Hillary now serves as Research and Technical Director at Naturipe Berry Growers, PCA.

Updated 7/30/18