Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

Left to Right: Leonardo Scherer Alves, Annabelle Kleist, An-Chi Tsou, Neela Babu, Gregory Gambetta, Laura Feinstein, Mark Elsesser, Melanie Zauscher, Kyle Hiner, and Tepring Piquado

"A bill that I developed to provide free public access to research that was funded by California taxpayers passed in the legislature and was signed by the governor." - S&T Policy Fellow Annabelle Kleist

Leonardo Scherer Alves
Senate Natural Resources and Water Committee

Leonardo received his PhD in Biomedical Sciences from the UC Irvine, with time spent at University of Pennsylvania. He obtained his undergraduate degree in Zoology and Biomedical Sciences from the University of Oklahoma, with time spent at the Università di Bologna in Italy. Leonardo is currently a Strategy, Planning, and Business Performance Analyst with Future Cities Catapult.

Neela Babu
Office of Assemblymember Nancy Skinner

Neela received a PhD and MS in Civil and Environmental Engineering at Cornell University, and a BS in Civil and Environmental Engineering from UC Davis. Neela is currently an Associate with WSP USA in Washington DC.

Mark Elsesser
Office of Assemblymember Ken Cooley

Mark received a PhD from UC Santa Barbara and a BSE from the University of Michigan, both in Chemical Engineering. He also was a postdoctoral associate in the Department of Chemistry at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Mark is currently a Senior Policy Analyst at the American Physical Society in Washington DC.

Laura Feinstein
Senate Environmental Quality Committee

Laura holds a PhD in Ecology from UC Davis, during which she was named a Delta Science Fellow by the Delta Science Program. She completed her bachelor’s studies in Anthropology at UC Berkeley. Laura is currently a Senior Research Associate with the Pacific Institute in Oakland.

Gregory Gambetta
Senate Office of Research

A native of San Carlos, California, Gregory received a PhD in Plant Biology from UC Davis, a MS in Biology from Sacramento State, and a BS in Molecular and Cellular Biology from UC Davis. He also was a Fulbright-Garcia Robles Scholar. Greg is currently a Professor of Viticulture at Bordeaux Sciences Agro - École nationale supérieure des sciences agronomiques de Bordeaux in France.

Kyle Hiner
Senate Energy, Utilities and Communications Committee

A native of Elk Grove, California, Kyle received a PhD in Physics from UC Riverside. He obtained a BS in Physics from Cal Poly Pomona, with time spent at the University of Wales, Swansea. Kyle is a Principal Associate in Data Science at Capital One Financial Corporation in Washington DC.

Annabelle Kleist
Office of Assemblymember Brian Nestande

Annabelle received a PhD in Plant Biology from UC Davis and graduated with honors with a BA in Biology from Carroll College. Annabelle now serves as Director of Teen Health and Success Partnership for the Center for Community Health at the University of Rochester Medical Center.

Tepring Piquado
Senate Human Services Committee

Tepring received a PhD in Neuroscience from Brandeis University and a BS in Computer Science from Georgetown University. She completed a postdoctoral fellowship at UC Irvine, and is a graduate of the SACNAS Leadership Institute. Tepring now serves as a Physical Scientist for the RAND Corporation.

An-Chi Tsou
Office of Assemblymember Rob Bonta

An-Chi received her PhD in Bioengineering from the UC Berkeley-UCSF Bioengineering Graduate Program and her BS in Engineering Science from Smith College, where she spent time at the University of Bristol, England. She was appointed by Governor Brown as Senior Policy Advisor to the Bureau of Medical Marijuana Regulation. An-Chi is currently the principal of her own firm, Tsou Consulting, LLC.

Melanie Zauscher
Office of Assemblymember Mark Stone

Melanie received a PhD in Mechanical Engineering and a BS in Environmental Chemistry from UC San Diego. She also was a postdoctoral researcher at the University of San Diego. Melanie now serves as an Air Pollution Specialist for the Research Division of the California Air Resources Board.

Updated 3/2/18