Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

Back Row, Left to Right: Julianne McCall, Mikel Shybut, Mike Peterson, Jen Chase;
Front Row, Left to Right: Bao Nguyen, Anna Reade, Bish Paul, Laura McWilliams, Kristin Warren

Jen Chase
Assembly Committee on Privacy and Consumer Protection

Chase received her PhD in Cellular and Molecular Biology from the University of Michigan, studying the genes which instruct stem cells to form blood cells in humans. She completed her BS in Biochemistry and BA in Spanish at South Dakota State University. Jen is currently a Senior Policy Consultant for the Office of California State Senator Ben Allen.

Julianne McCall
Senate Office of Research

McCall received her PhD in Neuroscience from Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg in Germany, where she studied methods to stimulate nerve cell regeneration to treat spinal cord injuries. McCall completed her MS in Biomedical Sciences at UC San Diego and her BS in Neuroscience at Denison University in Ohio. Julianne is currently a Policy Consultant for the California State Senate Office of Research.

Laura McWilliams
Assembly Committee on Utilities and Energy

McWilliams received her PhD and MS in Chemistry from the University of Oregon, where she studied how gases interact with liquids at industrial and atmospheric surfaces. She completed a master’s certificate at Banaras Hindu University in India, and her BS in Chemistry at Lyon College in Arkansas. Laura is currently a Policy Analyst for the Office of California State Senator Jerry Hill.

Bao-Ngoc Nguyen
Senate Committee on Health

Nguyen received her PhD in Bioengineering from the University of Maryland, College Park, where she studied methods to generate human bone tissue using adult stem cells. Nguyen also received her BS in Bioengineering from the University of Maryland. Bao is currently a Regenerative Medicine Commissioner's Fellow with the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.

Biswajit (Bish) Paul
Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting

Paul received his PhD in Cell and Molecular Biology from the University of Washington, where he studied the use of gene editing to create HIV-resistant white blood cells. Paul also completed his BS in Cell and Molecular Biology at the University of Washington. Bish is currently a State Policy Manager with TechNet.

Mike Peterson
Senate Committee on Natural Resources and Water

Peterson received his PhD in Environmental Science, Policy, and Management at UC Berkeley, where he studied the biodiversity of rivers and the accumulation of toxic pollutants in wildlife. Peterson completed his MS in Environmental Science at Western Washington University, and his BA in Biology and Environmental Studies at Whitman College in Washington. Mike is currently a Legislative Aide for the Office of California State Senator Ricardo Lara.

Anna Reade
Senate Committee on Environmental Quality

Reade received her PhD in Developmental Biology from UC San Francisco, where she use used laser microscopes to study molecular signaling critical to proper embryo growth and formation. Reade completed her BS in Cell and Developmental Biology at UC Santa Barbara. Anna is currently a Staff Scientist in the Health and Environment Program, Natural Resources Defense Council.

Mikel Shybut
Senate Committee on Transportation and Housing

Shybut received his PhD in Plant Biology from UC Berkeley, where he studied the molecular mechanisms of cassava bacterial blight, a disease of agricultural significance in the tropics. Shybut completed his BA in Biological Chemistry and in Russian at Grinnell College in Iowa. Mikel was recruited by the California Council on Science and Technology as a Program Associate.

Kristin Warren
California Legislative Black Caucus

Warren received her PhD in Mechanical Engineering from Carnegie Mellon University, where she studied how microalgae responded to physical stimulus, which has implications for designing biofuel processing techniques. Warren completed her BS in Mechanical Engineering at Kettering University in Michigan. Kristin is currently a Senior Consultant for the California State Legislative Black Caucus.

Updated 3/2/18